Birthday Reflections

Thank you for sharing this. There are many out here who understand this kind of pain. You are incredibly strong and have encouraged me at a time when I most need it. Bless you.

AMother'sHeartSongsUnsilenced

momcake

I had a good birthday this year.   Even without hearing from the most important person in the world to me – my son, I managed to have a “good” birthday.  It held simple, quiet pleasures, yet mixed with profound grief and loss. The meaning of “good” has evolved, to be sure.  When I was a child, I thought a good birthday was loads of fun, presents, and of course FIREWORKS!  Born (almost) on the Fourth of July… the perfect way to celebrate! As a very involved, stay-at-home Mom, my idea of the perfect birthday was to spend it with my son and ex-husband, talk on the phone to lots of friends and family, but mostly do something together as a little nuclear family.  Of course, the centerpiece was something so simple but priceless – a hand-made treasure from my sweet young son, catching fireflies after seeing the fireworks, and…

View original post 1,024 more words

Leave a Reply

